Skip to content

House Hunt: It’s official

April 6, 2010

It is with great joy and excitement that I announce to you:  This morning we signed the lease on the completely renovated 1000-sq ft ranch house that we fell hard for a few weeks ago.  Even more exciting?  Our landlord gave us the keys when we signed on Tuesday, even though we planned for May 1st occupancy.  Um, yeah – he’s pretty much awesome.

Now for the planning! House Hunt:  It’s official

Excited about the fabulous kitchen, I used the text feature of Picasa to plan out where all our kitchen goodies will be stored.  Settling into this space will be a breeze.

Only one dilemma:  where to store the plastic cutting sheets/boards.  I just can’t seem to find the right spot.  I guess I’ll spend 5 minutes figuring it out once I’ve unpacked everything else.

As for the other rooms – I’m still drafting floor plans for them, but moving furniture around is easy and fun.  So I don’t mind if they aren’t figured out prior to the move.

What do you think?  Is this over-the-top OCDness setting in?  Am I going to far in my pre-move planning, or is this sensible and efficient?  I love that not every shelf in every cabinet will be utilized immediately.  Hooray for empty spaces and good [supposed] fung shui

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    April 7, 2010 12:16 AM

    I didn’t any dog/cat treats listed ;)

    • Borrowed Abode permalink*
      April 7, 2010 8:28 AM

      Good point! I’ll be storing them in the pantry, and also in a cute little jar on the counter :)

  2. Erin permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:41 AM

    Yea for an awesome kitchen with lots of cabinets! Cutting board ideas….I leave mine propped on the counter by the sink. I’m constantly using them (like 3x a day!) so they are always handy. A friend of mine has this: http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/30087148
    only flip it over on the counter next to your sink…then you’ve always got a place to chop!

  3. Kevin permalink
    April 8, 2010 4:59 PM

    You.labeled.all.of.the.drawers????

    Where was Captain Awesome at, so that he could stop this insanity!! :)

Leave a Reply

