Skip to content

Blizztastic

February 11, 2010

It’s seriously blizztastic out there. What else can I say?  I departed Colorado Monday, arriving home before Tuesday’s snowstorm.   I worked from home Tuesday, but had to go get cat food/dog food/cat litter.  My car was literally buried by snow and snowplowed piles – I tried to dig it out with a broken shovel, but to no avail –  so I walked to the nearby grocery.  It took more climbing, huffing, puffing, and sliding than I did on my mountain climb in Colorado.  That’s just wrong.

It was worth it, though.  I helped two elderly people during that journey.  The first couldn’t get the only available shopping cart out of a snowdrift.  The second was a neighbor who struggles to make ends meet, and needed help buying a few groceries.

But have you ever walked a half mile home, your shoulders laden with grocery bags?  Let me tell you, I don’t recommend it.  Especially not when you’re carrying cat litter.  That stuff gets heavy.

Jump ahead to Wednesday.  It’s crazy out there.  So snowy, so cold, so windy.  All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of all this.  And hope that people, especially old people stranded in their homes, stay warm and safe.  The snow’s wreaking havoc on our condo’s gutters, pulling them off the buildings for the second time this winter.

The boyfriend actually shoveled out a little yard area for my dog to potty in.  It’s just too deep for her otherwise.

The kittens aren’t sure what to make of all this:

But at least I managed to make [from scratch] some awesome cinnamon-raisin bread!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:30 AM

    I was wondering how you’ve been doing – I’m following the news on the weather up there. Insane! How goes the cohabiting?

  2. February 11, 2010 8:25 PM

    Wow that snow is crazy! Your pets are too cute in the snow, esp the kittens. I would love to hear more about this bread baking, did you use a particular recipe?

  3. Borrowed Abode permalink*
    February 12, 2010 3:09 PM

    Robin – I’ll shoot you the recipe. Super easy!

  4. February 13, 2010 1:34 AM

    Thanks Jane! :)

Leave a Reply

