Skip to content

Thrifty Fix: My Jewelry’s Been Framed!

February 4, 2010

When it comes to small-space living, you’ve got to use your walls for utilitarian-yet-stylish storage.   Case in point, my latest jewelry storage creation.

Until recently, I used shadowboxes to store jewelry on my bedroom wall.  But I wanted something a bit more glamorous for my guest room / vanity area.

Here’s how I recently made a fancier little jewelry storage system for my guest room out of a thrift-store art frame, a scrap of fabric, old buttons, and leftover wood!  Any of you ladies could do this with a simple power tool or two, but I was fortunate to have the help of my uber-handy dad.  We I call him Pops.

The plan:  Paint frame, affix upholstered board to back of frame, install cute knobs for necklace storage, as well as earring storage. Here’s how it went down:

First, while Pops cut one of his scrap boards to fit the frame, I spray-painted my beat-up old art frame to a nice, clean white.

I used a staple gun to wrap the board with a brown micro-suede fabric scrap.  (I knew that my stash of leftover fabrics would come in handy!)

I trimmed the upholstered board with pale blue ribbon.  I also used ribbon to create earring holders.  I’ll explain that in a minute.

Before attaching the board to the frame, I measured out and marked where each of the necklace knobs would go.  Pops drilled holes through the back of the board to hold the knobs.

Next issue:  I didn’t actually have any knobs. But Pops had a solution:  he cut an old dowel into a bunch of equal pieces, then used his drill-press to put screw holes in them:

Once the dowels were screwed to the front of the board, I hot-glued an assortment of old buttons to the fronts of the dowels, creating the knobs for hanging necklaces and bracelets:

I bet you’re still wondering how ribbon become an earring holder.   Before installing the board in the frame, I’d stretched two lengths of ribbon across the board, stapling it to the board every few inches.  I hot-glued small buttons over the staples to keep it cute.  This way earrings could be hooked over the ribbon in sections.

Finally, a view of the finished project.  I attached the board to the back of the frame with some little brackets made specifically for attaching art to a frame.  I forget what they were, but any hardware store should have them.  You hammer them in – takes two seconds.

Voila!  A pretty, color-coordinated jewelry display board!

Many thanks to Pops!  He’s provided great help on a bunch of projects both for me and my friends this winter!

PS:  I think it’s so totally awesome that I’m posting this as I soar across the country in an airplane.  That’s why I have to mention it.   Yep, internet on the airplane.  I’ll be in Colorado for the next 5 days while my East coast peeps get pounded with snowstorms.  Sorry, y’all!

*******

Linked to Frugalicious Friday over at Decor Mamma.  Hop on over to see all the other great ideas shared there!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 7:58 PM

    What a fun idea! I remember seeing your shadow boxes last time I was there, but this is really fun. Your dad must get a kick out of being a feature on your blog, huh? Enjoy Colorado! :)

    • Borrowed Abode permalink*
      February 5, 2010 12:18 PM

      Robin, I don’t even know if my dad saw that blog entry yet! However, he does read it regularly (unlike my mom) so maybe he’ll get a kick out of it :)

  2. Christine T. permalink
    February 5, 2010 1:37 AM

    I love this! You know I am similarly space challenged and my jewelry is currently in a clump.

    • Borrowed Abode permalink*
      February 5, 2010 12:17 PM

      Christine, maybe we should make an organization solution for your jewelry!

Leave a Reply

