Skip to content

My Winter Vacation

January 4, 2010

Seriously.  What a trip.  

Instead of hiking a half-mile through the frozen woods to stay in this small cabin with no electricity, my friends and I ended up here:

Scenic views of the river and foothills

Rustic cabin with cozy fireplace

Gorgeous sunsets, as seen from the cabin

A few friends, my boyfriend and I were all set to enjoy a toasty and restful five-day New Years Eve vacation in a rustic, secluded cabin at the base of Shenandoah National Park.  Alas, this was not to be.   Instead, the cloud’s silver lining  turned out to be better than the trip we’d planned!

Pop over here for more photos and the short scoop on everything that went wrong (and right) with our trip . . . from disappearing reservations to broken teeth and adventures with denture adhesive. Oh yeah.   If the trip’s a sign, then this is bound to be an interesting year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 6:19 PM

    It looks gorgeous! Need to follow the link to figure out what went wrong!

  2. January 5, 2010 4:02 AM

    This looks like an incredible place to spend the holidays!

    Thank you so much for all of your well wishes! :)

  3. January 5, 2010 12:27 PM

    Incidentally, a nature post is a great foil to the whole meditation/prayer thing. I think observing nature and admiring it is pretty much the same as meditating or praying out of gratitude for it. I love Portland by the way. Such a gorgeous city.

  4. January 6, 2010 8:12 PM

    I’m such a lamo dog person that my heart soared when I saw all those happy pups snuggling up with their owners. So cute!

    I’m glad you enjoyed your time down here!

Leave a Reply

