Skip to content

A Thrifted Christmas: Part 1

December 11, 2009

Image credit: Country Living

I love to give people handmade gifts for birthdays or holidays.  And now, with extra creative inspiration from the blogosphere, I pledged to make as many handmade gifts as possible.  To add to the mix, I decided to use as many thrifted items as possible – not to save money, but just to stretch my creative abilities.  Bonus:  repurposing items is easy on the environment and the wallet, too!

A Thrifted Christmas, Part One:

It’s tough to blog about my planned gift projects without spoiling the surprise for those on the receiving end, but I’m going to give it a shot. 

I’ve been obsessing over felted wool projects lately.  This weekend I shall change that, because last night I scored some el cheapo 100% wool sweaters at the Salvation Army.   Thanks to the Country Living craft ideas, I’m now going to attempt to make some felted wool sweater tote bags

If all goes well, and I end up with at least four bags, than that means that four pressents will be wrapped in a kickass, reusable, and one-of-a-kind tote bag! 

Hopefully I’ll have great status to report next week when I bring you Part 2 of my “A Thrifted Christmas” series!

P.S. – If you havent’ already, be sure to check out the e-book  “A Green Christmas” by Katie of Making This Home for thrifty and environmentally-friendly Christmas ideas.   Click the link in the sidebar for more info!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    December 29, 2009 12:46 AM

    Pictures, pictures!!! I’m dying to see the finished project!!!

  2. May 7, 2010 6:41 AM

    I’m coming back to this old post – thinking of what to do with sweaters I shrunk. When I told Martin I had shrunk two sweaters for the first time ever, he said, “you know there’s a sweater washing feature, don’t you?” “No,” I said. “Our washer is in German.”
    Katie

Trackbacks

  1. A Thrifted Christmas: Part 2 « The Borrowed Abode
  2. A Thrifted Christmas: Part 4 « The Borrowed Abode

Leave a Reply

