Skip to content

Thanksgiving Thoughts + A Retail Rant

November 26, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving, all!
On this day, and every other day, I am so thankful for family and good friends. This year I also extend my thanks to the wonderful community of bloggers by whom I’ve been inspired!

I’m home with the family for the week. I was disconcerted today upon seeing that many stores are open on Thanksgiving this year, or at 4 am Friday. I’ve gotta say that I take issue with that. Have we become that materialistic and wrapped up around the shopping side of the holidays rather than the spiritual side of things that we will sacrifice retail workers’ holidays for all this shopping madness? Really? What business is so greedy that it will make its employees work on Thanksgiving?

Here’s a few:
-Michaels arts and crafts
-Boscov’s department store
-Walgreens
-The Gap
-Old Navy
-Banana Republic
-Wal-Mart

Yes, I know that stores are desperately trying to eek a profit out of what will probably be the worst retail year in decades, but at the expense of people’s family time on an American holiday? I’m sorry, but that’s just not cool.

It concerns me how Christmas has become so materialistic.

With that, I’ll sign off. I’m truly thankful to have a good job that allows me to take vacation and does not require me to do unecessary work on a holiday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dot permalink
    November 26, 2009 10:31 AM

    Nice post, Jane. There are many people who have to work on the holiday. You are indeed very luck to have a job that lets you have holidays off! God bless our doctors, nurses, police officers, fire fighters, military, and anyone else who has to work this Thanksgiving!

  2. November 28, 2009 10:30 AM

    Get this: a family member knows someone who manages a WalMart store (poor guy!) and the only day of the year that they close is Christmas. However, WalMart has a policy that there must be someone in the store at all times. So, he volunteers to do a 7 AM – 7 PM shift on Christmas because he’s single and doesn’t have a family.

    He told my family member that every year, people show up all day long expecting WalMart to be open on Christmas day! They peer into the store, knock, try to pull open the doors, and finally leave the empty lot.

Leave a Reply

