Skip to content

New England Rainbows & New Plans

August 27, 2009

During my weekday work travels from Boston to (and through) New Hampshire, my eyes were treated to a variety of rainbows: rainbows of ripe fruit perched on farm stands, rainbows of flowers in fields, rainbows painted on progressive buildings, and even two spectacular rainbows in the air.

I chose to drive the scenic route from Boston to Nashua (NH), since the mileage was about equal, but the ambiance was sooo much nicer.  There’s nothing like the New England countryside.  Soon after crossing into the state of “Live Free or Die,” I stumbled upon the adorable Brookdale Fruit Farm in Hollis, NH.  Organic to eat and pleasing to the eye – it doesn’t get much better than this.  Sadly, the photos don’t do it justice.

Farm Stand

Farm Stand 2

Farm Stand 3

Later that afternoon, en route to a business dinner, a strong rainstorm hit the streets of downtown Nashua.  As the rain abated and a gorgeous rainbow appeared, arching over the city, I had to pull over and get a shot.

Rainbow Nashua

Later on in the same drive,  a wrong turn had me crossing the bridge at Lowell, MA, where I was treated to another gorgeous arc of color in the sky.

Rainbow Tyngsboro

Tuesday, after my conference ended, I drove through the hills and found myself eating dinner and doing some work  in a charming and still fully functioning small town.  Peterborough, NH.    Check out the little downtown park along the river:100_4522

And Main Street, where I dined on fresh and tasty pasta primavera on the local pub’s outdoor patio:

Peteroborough Main St.

I also rustled up some nerve to make conversation with the locals so that I could do relocation recon.  Then I made a decision which I’ve felt coming for a while now.  By the end of next year I would like to move to New Hampshire, preferably making my home in Peterborough.

WHAT?  WHY?

Don’t get me wrong, I love living in the city.  But honestly, DC is wearing on me.  The traffic, the commute, the lack of space.  I used to have a short commute, now I work 30 miles outside of the city.  I don’t want to live in the suburbs.  I don’t mind the inside of my 900 sq. foot condo; frankly, I feel living in a small space encourages organization and simplification in life.  But this summer I’ve pushed my condo’s outdoor space to the limit, growing 14 tomato plants, pepper plants, and herbs.  Which, by the way, is against the bylaws of the association.  Oh, and a massive flower garden (which is providing gorgeous bouquets).  Maybe it’s the ripe ole’ age of 31 approaching, or maybe it’s just that I’m finally figuring out what I want, but I know I can’t live in the city much longer.

Conversely, in NH, I could afford a house on 2-3 acres of land.  Enough said.

I want to come home from work each day in the spring, summer, and fall to dine on an outdoor porch and look out upon my yard and the trees beyond.  I want to smell the crisp, clean scent of pine in the air – and not with the help of Yankee Candle.  I want to have a garden where I can grow fruit and veggies in large enough quantities to freeze some for the winter.  And if I have to be cold in the winter, I want to be really, really, cold and enjoy watching my dogs playing in real snow.

I always planned to move, but “not yet.”  When I realized this week that there are job opportunities in that area, though, I figured it all out.  Now it’s just a matter of saving up for the move, and then eventually finding a job.  And convincing my boyfriend to go with me.

And then? Why, then I’d have a whole new place to decorate.  But it would no longer be a “borrowed” abode.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 12:48 PM

    Borrowed Abode,

    Sounds like we don’t need to convince you to come to New Hampshire! I love it here and I love working for tourism in the state. If you need ammo to convince other folks that New Hampshire is the place to be, check out our website at http://www.visitnh.gov. We are also on Facebook (www.facebook.com/VisitNH) and Twitter (www.twitter.com/VisitNH) with tons of great information and fun things about the Granite State. We hope to see you here soon. Peterborough is great- home to the MacDowell Artist Colony, Mt. Monadnock and was supposedly the basis for the fictional town of Grover’s Corners in Thornton Wilder’s “Our Town”.

Leave a Reply

