Skip to content

My First Blog Award – One Lovely Blog

August 6, 2009

Last Monday morning got off to a pleasant start when I discovered that one of my favorite bloggers, Julia from Open Hand Living, had bestowed the honor of a “blog award” upon my Borrowed Abode blog!  More than just a compliment, the blog award got me thinking about which blogs I would pass it on to – and I realized that I was just beginning to discover all the wonderful blogs out there.  Now it’s time to pass on that love to a few of the blogs that I just can’t get enough of.
One_Lovely_Blog_Award
The “rules” to receiving the One Lovely Blog Award are:  Accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award, and his or her blog link. Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you’ve newly discovered. Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.
 
Here are the blogs I chose to pass on the love to – and that I encourage you to check out, if you haven’t already:
  • Young House Love, for being the first blog I ever followed – way back in 2008. Sherry and John inspired and wowed me early on, not only with their creative and oh-so-affordable decor ideas, but also with their fantastic blog design. They’ve really set the standard for DIY blogging, and the best part is, they’re showing the world that anyone can decorate and improve their home, even with limited experience and budget.  If you haven’t checked out their site, especially their how-to section, you’re missing out!
  • Fine Green Design, because I love her focus on creating beautiful spaces while keeping mother earth (and your budget) in mind. She, too, has a beautiful blog, from graphics to layout to color scheme.  I just love it! 
  • Thrifty Decor Chick, because if she can thrift it, she can make it attractive and useful!  She’s completed many creative transformations, and you must check them out for inspiration.  You must check out her post on building inexpensive window boxes.
  • The Lettered Cottage, where Layla shares her peaceful and soothing design concepts.  Just viewing her designs makes me feel like I’m on a relaxing vacation!  Also, check out her new store – Lettered Cottage Home.
  • Atomic Indy, for helping to fuel my obsession with mid-century modern furniture and architecture.  With a mid-century modern renovation blog based in Indianaopolis, they make me wish I lived there so I could attend their Atomic Crash Parties.
  • Green Daily, for providing me with a quick daily dose of what’s new in the lets-be-politically-correct-and-save-planet-earth scene. 

As you can see, I didn’t name 15 blogs. I’m newer to the world of blog following, so I’m still building up a collection of sites. But I firmly believe that quality trumps quantity.  What about you all?  Any great blogs that you’d like to share with me?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 3:13 PM

    Aw shucks, we’re blushing. Thanks so much for the kind words. We’re off to check out all the other blogs you love. Thanks for the recommendations!

  2. August 6, 2009 4:14 PM

    I think my blog reader is up to 190 blogs right now! I don’t care if someone updates once a month or once an hour, I love scrolling through all the new posts each morning.

    One of my local favs is {in the tweeds}, based in DC. The address is just http://inthetweeds.com .

  3. August 7, 2009 12:37 AM

    I noticed your seaside-themed bathroom. You may want to visit these blogs too:
    http://www.an-ocean-beach-lovers-place.com/
    and
    http://www.abeachcottage.com/my_weblog/

    Good luck!

  4. August 19, 2009 11:34 PM

    Thank you so much!! You are so sweet to think of me, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

